If you get lost…

…you‘ll find here our complete sitemap excluding the information showen on the homepage.

Please choose you’re desired booking

Please choose you’re desired booking

Lesen Sie alle unsere Bewertungen hier .
Book a Comfort Room

Book a Comfort Room

Here you can book a Comfort Room: You'll find a room description here .
Book a Economy/Budget Twin Room

Book a Economy/Budget Twin Room

Here you can book a Economy/Budget Twin Room: You'll find a room description here . Please note, that this room type can only accommodate a maximum of 2 guests.
Book the Mountain Chalet

Book the Mountain Chalet

Here you can book the Mountain Chalet: You'll find a description of our Mountain Chalet here .
Book a Rooisand Cabin

Book a Rooisand Cabin

Here you can book a Rooisand Cabin:
Book a campsite

Book a campsite

Here you can book a campsite:
Rent the observatory

Rent the observatory

Are you already an accomplished amateur astronomer? We invite you to follow your hoppy extensively in Rooisand’s own well-equipped observatory! Our state-of-the-art telescope/astrograph combination is, to date, the largest available for public viewing, w...
How does the booking procedure work?

How does the booking procedure work?

Read all our reviews here .
Booking and cancellation policy

Booking and cancellation policy

Rooisand Booking and Cancellation Policy   Children Children under 6 years: free Children under 12 years: 50% Teenager over 12 years: 100% max. two children/teenager per room sharing with parents.   Cancellation...
Our Accommodation

Our Accommodation

We offer a variety of accommodation at Rooisand, catering for every need and budget: Enjoy the many amenities offered at the main house and relax in either one of our individually designed Comfort Double/Twin/Family Rooms or, alternatively in...
At the guest farm

At the guest farm

Nested with the central area of the farm are the guest quarters, the main building and the kitchen with the adjacent accommodation for the farm management, the technical buildings, the pool and the tennis courts . During the day, the lapa functions...
Comfort Rooms

Comfort Rooms

We offer our guests a choice of 5 spacious Comfort Double Rooms, close to the main house and amenities and with a great view of the beautiful garden and surrounds. Four of these rooms can be converted into family rooms.   Alternatively,...
Economy/Budget Twin Rooms

Economy/Budget Twin Rooms

The four economy/budget rooms are situated between the lapa area and the tennis courts . These twin rooms are ideal for singles, guides and budget travellers, while still offering two single beds each as well as an en-suite bathroom, a coffee station...
Mountain Chalet

Mountain Chalet

The Chalet is situated on a hill approximately 2,5 kilometres away from the ranch. It is fully equipped and comfortably furnished for a maximum of 4 self-caterers and offers 2 double rooms with en-suite bathrooms, a big living area including a verandah...
On the camping area

On the camping area

Our outdoor campsite, approximately 1.5km away from the main house offers you five very spacious adjacent campsites or our new 10 two-bunk Cabins .
Rooisand Cabins

Rooisand Cabins

Due to the ever-increasing popularity of self-drive campers travelling in groups and thus more than one vehicle, we have designed and built the Rooisand Cabins to allow for social or individual self-catering camping. 10 two-bunk Cabins are available...
Camping at Rooisand

Camping at Rooisand

Camping at ROOISAND Five very spacious adjacent campsites each with an electricity connection, running water, brick-walled barbeque facilities and sun-shelter are situated at the outdoor campsite, approximately 1.5km away from the main house. Ideal...
Activities

Activities

Activities at ROOISAND We offer a wide range of individual and family-orientated activities at Rooisand. Apart from the available amenities such as the outdoor pool and tennis court , we invite you to participate in the following interesting – and o...
Stargazing

Stargazing

Have you ever had the opportunity to observe the globular cluster Omega Centauri or the surface of the moon and its many craters? We offer you the chance of a lifetime – observations through one of the world's best amateur telescopes, a 430 mm P...
Astro Tour

Astro Tour

Astro Tour This unique activity is very popular with our guests and not to be missed! After having enjoyed dinner at the lapa restaurant, guests travel in open viewing vehicles to Rooisand’s very own observatory, situated way up on a hill a...
Observation Data

Observation Data

Here you’ll find some observation data for the next days.      
Inventory Observatory

Inventory Observatory

(Deutsch) Rooisand Observatorium Inventarliste Teleskope 430mm PlaneWave Astrograph 130mm Zeiss APQ 110mm TEC FL Allgemeines Fokuslage des CDK 17, Fokussierung ganz eingefahren = 117mm hinter der 2" Aufnahme OHNE M68 Verlängerung Durchgeschleifte ...
Scenic Drive

Scenic Drive

Rooisand stretches across an area of almost 12 000 ha and there is so much to see! During a scenic drive spanning a few hours, guests are given an overview of the diversified fauna and flora of the area. The experienced guide will explain many farming...
Sundowner Drive

Sundowner Drive

Join us on a drive to one of the many stunning viewing points Rooisand has to offer and enjoy an unobstructed view of the most fascinating African terrain. With a cold drink in hand, enjoy an (almost)guaranteed spectacular sunset until the first...
Rock-Art Hiking Trails

Rock-Art Hiking Trails

Well-preserved rock carvings created by Namibia's indigenous hunter-gatherer people have long been known on the farm grounds. Scientific research brought more elements to light in 2005. The paintings are mostly done in shades of red, the colour...
Mineral Site Visits

Mineral Site Visits

Rooisand offers various quarries that have exposed interesting mineral deposits, amongst others quartz, smokey quartz and amethysts. In addition, deposits of a very rare type of amethyst, that changes colour from violet-red to yellow-green when...
Clay Pigeon Shooting

Clay Pigeon Shooting

Experience this unique sporting activity discover the fascination with clay pigeon shooting! If you have always wanted to try clay pigeon shooting, Rooisand finally offers you this unique opportunity! Watch the "flying saucers" burst in the...
Fly Drone Safari

Fly Drone Safari

Fly Drone Safari Drone flying is not permitted in Namibian National Parks, but at ROOISAND an unique activity has been created, which allows guests to head out into the wilderness to capture aerial footage with their own drones. An experienced guide...
Guided Walking Tour

Guided Walking Tour

A knowledgeable guide will walk you through the grandiose scenery surrounding Rooisand Desert Ranch, there is so much to discover! Enjoy breathtaking panoramic views and, if you are lucky, you will encounter "other inhabitants" of the Rooisand...
Planet Hiking Trail

Planet Hiking Trail

Another quite unique activity offered by Rooisand is our planetary walk, completed in early 2018. A model of our solar system has been set up along the path stretching between the ranch and observatory, a distance of about 2.5km,. True to scale in size...
Amenities

Amenities

Whether you ache for some activity or simply want to rest after your journey to Rooisand, we offer a wide variety of amenities, - free of charge! Please note that these are reserved for rooming guests.  
Pool

Pool

Cool off and even exercise in our 16 x 5m pool, complete with underwater massage jets and massaging waterfall.  
Tennis Court

Tennis Court

We agree, it is very unusual – but our two tennis courts are very well maintained and even equipped with floodlights! Enjoy a match of tennis during the cooler hours of the day or even in the evening. We provide tennis racquets and balls – free of cha...
Wi-Fi

Wi-Fi

Finally! Since December 2018 we are also able to offer our guests Wi-Fi! A booster is required to receive the 3G-signal from the Gamsberg, thus Wi-Fi access may not be possible everywhere.
Table Tennis

Table Tennis

... indoor or outdoor – a special enjoyment!  
Darts

Darts

Darts at ROOISAND Test your marksmanship – either on your own or challenge others during a game of darts.  
Breakfast

Breakfast

Our continental breakfast buffet includes home-baked bread and bread rolls as well as our very special muesli-mix, various jams, various types of polony and sometimes even Rooisand’s own smoked game. Fresh farm eggs are prepared to order.   ...
Lunch

Lunch

Lunch packs or light lunches are only available upon request! Please let us know a day in advance should you arrive at Rooisand before lunchtime and wish to enjoy one of our scrumptious, freshly prepared meals.  
Coffee & Cake

Coffee & Cake

May we proudly present: crisply baked cake ideally partnered with a steaming cup of coffee - freshly ground from Rooisand's secret coffee bean mix.  
Dinner

Dinner

For dinner, we offer a 3-course buffet meal comprising of a mostly national starter, a main course with various side dishes, organic meat exclusively from our own stock, fresh salads and a delectable dessert. We kindly request that dietary preferences,...
Bar

Bar

End your day in good company at the bar, where we offer a variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. The extensive wine list caters for all pallets and often an unknown wine from our selection surprises even the connoisseur.
Fireplace and Reading Corner

Fireplace and Reading Corner

On (very rare) cold evenings make yourself comfortable in front of our fireplace. Our reading corner is ready for rummaging. Here you will find literature about Africa and especially Namibia as well as light travel literature in German and English....
Laundry Service

Laundry Service

For a small fee, we happily wash, fold and iron your laundry.
How to find us...

How to find us...

How to find us...   Travelling from Windhoek (165 km) After arriving from , Windhoek is usually the first destination. Leave the center of Windhoek on the C26 (Mandume Ndemufayo Avenue) in a westerly direction. Continue along the C26, cross...
Our Ratings

Our Ratings

We appreciate satisfied customers! Here are some reviews from TripAdvisor and from our guest book. Have you ever been our guest at Rooisand? Then please leave a review .
Rate us

Rate us

Read all reviews here . Did you enjoy your stay with us? Please tell us and others! Your details are safe with us, please read our Data Protection and Privacy Policies . [site_reviews_form"]
Privacy Policy

Privacy Policy

Rooisand Desert Ranch Privacy Policy We are very delighted that you have shown interest in Rooisand Desert Ranch. Data protection is of a particularly high priority for the management of the Rooisand Desert Ranch. The use of the Internet pages of the...

Wenn Sie sich „verlaufen“ haben…

…finden Sie hier eine komplette Aufstellung all unserer Seiten und Informationen, die sich nicht auf der Startseite befinden.

Was möchten Sie buchen?

Was möchten Sie buchen?

Lesen Sie alle unsere Bewertungen hier .
Ein Komfort Zimmer buchen

Ein Komfort Zimmer buchen

Hier können Sie ein Komfort Zimmer buchen: Die Zimmerbeschreibung finden sie hier . .
Ein Budget Twin Zimmer buchen

Ein Budget Twin Zimmer buchen

Hier können Sie ein Budget Twin Zimmer buchen: Die Zimmerbeschreibung finden sie hier .
Das Mountain Chalet buchen

Das Mountain Chalet buchen

Hier können Sie das Mountain Chalet buchen: Eine Beschreibung des Mountain Chalets finden Sie hier .
Eine Rooisand Cabin reservieren

Eine Rooisand Cabin reservieren

Hier können Sie eine Rooisand Cabin reservieren: Eine Beschreibung der Rooisand Cabins finden Sie hier .
Ein Campingplatz reservieren

Ein Campingplatz reservieren

Hier können Sie einen Campingplatz reservieren:
Die Sternwarte mieten

Die Sternwarte mieten

Sie sind bereits ein versierter Hobby-Astronom? Wie wäre es dann mal damit die eigenen vier Wände zu verlassen und Ihrem Hobby intensiv in unserem sehr gut ausgestatten Observatorium nach zu gehen? Direkt neben der Sternwarte befindet sich, abseits v...
Wie funktioniert die Online-Buchung?

Wie funktioniert die Online-Buchung?

Lesen Sie alle Bewertungen hier .
Buchungs- und Stornierungsbedingungen

Buchungs- und Stornierungsbedingungen

Rooisand Buchungs- und Stornierungsbedingungen   Kinder Kind unter 6 Jahren im Zimmer der Eltern: kostenlos Kind unter 12 Jahren im Zimmer der Eltern: 50% Kind unter 12 Jahren in eigenem Zimmer: 100% Zweites Kind unter 12...
Unsere Unterkünfte

Unsere Unterkünfte

Auf Rooisand bieten wir Ihnen vielfältige Möglichkeiten der Unterkunft; es ist für jeden etwas dabei: Entspannen auf dem Gelände des Haupthauses in individuell eingerichteten Zimmern , genießen Sie den Luxus unseres Mountain Chalets oder camp...
Im Haupthaus

Im Haupthaus

Im zentralen Bereich der Farm befinden sich die Gästeunterkünfte, das Hauptgebäude mit Küche und Unterkünften für das Farm Management, die technischen Gebäude, der Pool und die Tennisplätze . Die Lapa ist tagsüber Rooisand’s offener Speiseraum...
Komfort Zimmer

Komfort Zimmer

Rooisand verfügt über 5 komfortable Doppelzimmer mit Bad, Dusche und WC und schönem Blick in unseren Garten.   Oder möchten Sie doch lieber das Mountain Chalet oder ein Budget Twin Zimmer buchen ?
Budget Twin Zimmer

Budget Twin Zimmer

Zwischen dem Haupthaus und unseren Tennisplätzen liegt unser "Budget Twin Zimmer Haus". In diesem bieten wir unseren Gästen 4 Einzelzimmer mit Twin-Betten, eigenem Bad, Dusche und WC an.   Oder möchten Sie doch lieber ein Komfort Zi...
Mountain Chalet

Mountain Chalet

Ca. 2,5 Kilometer von der Farm entfernt bieten wir unseren Gästen ein komplett und sehr komfortabel eingerichtetes Ferienhaus mit 2 Doppelzimmern, eigenen Bädern, großem Wohnzimmer, "Hightech" Küche und Sonnenterrasse inkl. Kaminofen. Das Mou...
Auf dem Campingplatz

Auf dem Campingplatz

Unser ca. 1,5km vom Farmhaus entfernt gelegener Campingplatz... Wählen Sie entweder die klassische Variante des Campings oder unsere neuen Rooisand Cabins .
Rooisand Cabins

Rooisand Cabins

Beschreibung folgt...   ... oder möchten sie doch lieber die klassische Variante des Campings nutzen ? Bitte beachten Sie, dass die vorhandenen Annehmlichkeiten am Farmhaus , insbesondere die Tennisanlage und der Pool unseren Zimmergästen ...
Camping

Camping

Camping auf ROOISAND Für Gäste, die es vorziehen im Zelt zu übernachten oder mit einem Wohnmobil unterwegs sind, bietet Rooisand einen "outside" Campingplatz, eingebettet in die grandiose Landschaft. Dieser ist ca. 1,5 km vom Haupthaus entfernt un...
Aktivitäten

Aktivitäten

Aktivitäten auf ROOISAND Die möglichen Aktivitäten auf ROOISAND sind sehr vielfältig und abwechslungsreich. Neben den kostenlos zu nutzenden Angeboten wie z.B. den Pool oder unsere Tennisplätze bieten wir auch noch die folgenden interessanten und ...
Sternenbeobachtung

Sternenbeobachtung

Hatten Sie... ... schon einmal die Gelegenheit den Kugelsternhaufen Omega Centauri oder die kraterüberzogende Oberfläche des Mondes durch eines der weltbesten Amateurteleskope, einem 430 mm PlaneWave Astrograph, zu beobachten? Bei uns haben Si...
Astro Tour

Astro Tour

Astro Tour Die „Astro Tour“ ist bei den Gästen der Rooisand Desert Ranch sehr beliebt. Der Ablauf Nach dem Abendessen unter der Lapa werden Sie in einem offenen Geländewagen zu dem ca. 2,5km entfernten Observatorium gefahren. Hier erwartet Sie, ...
Beobachtungsdaten

Beobachtungsdaten

Hier erhalten Sie eine kleine Zusammenstellung der Beobachtungsdaten von Planeten und die Mondphasen für die nächsten Tage.      
Inventarliste Observatorium

Inventarliste Observatorium

Rooisand Observatorium Inventarliste Teleskope 430mm PlaneWave Astrograph 130mm Zeiss APQ 110mm TEC FL Allgemeines Fokuslage des CDK 17, Fokussierung ganz eingefahren = 117mm hinter der 2" Aufnahme OHNE M68 Verlängerung Durchgeschleifte Kabel ...
Farmrundfahrt

Farmrundfahrt

Die Farm ROOISAND ist 12.000 Hektar groß und es gibt viel zu sehen! Bei einer mehrstündigen Farmrundfahrt erhalten Sie Einblicke in die abwechslungsreiche Flora und Fauna des Farmgeländes. Unser erfahrener Guide erläutert bei der Fahrt das Konzept der...
Sundowner Fahrt

Sundowner Fahrt

Fahren Sie mit uns zu einem der vielen Plätze der Rooisand Desert Ranch mit atemberaubenden Ausblicken in die faszinierende afrikanische Landschaft. Genießen Sie bei kühlen Drinks das Erlebnis der oft spektakulären Sonnenuntergänge bis zur Dämm...
Felszeichnungen

Felszeichnungen

Gut erhaltene Felszeichnungen, die von Ureinwohnern Namibias erstellt wurden, sind schon seit langer Zeit auf dem Farmgelände bekannt. Wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen brachten 2005 weitere Elemente zutage. Die Malereien sind mehrheitlich in roten ...
Mineralien Tour

Mineralien Tour

Die Farm Rooisand verfügt über einige Fundplätze für schöne Mineralien, unter anderem Quarz, Rauchquarz und Amethyst. Zudem gibt es auf Rooisand in einigen Vorkommen eine weltweit sehr seltene Art von Amethysten. Dieser ist - wie normaler Amet...
Tontaubenschießen

Tontaubenschießen

Lernen Sie ein exklusives Sportvergnügen der besonderen Art kennen Entdecken Sie die Faszination des Tontaubenschießens. Wollten Sie schon immer einmal das Tontaubenschießen ausprobieren? Auf ROOISAND haben Sie die Gelegenheit dazu. Lassen Si...
Drohnen Flug Safari

Drohnen Flug Safari

Drohnen Flug Safari Drohnen Flüge sind in allen Namibischen Nationalparks verboten! Auf ROOISAND haben wir jedoch für unsere Gäste das einmalige Angebot, in die Wildnis zu fahren und einzigartige Luftaufnahmen mit ihren eigenen Drohnen aufzunehmen. Ein er...
Wandern (mit Guide)

Wandern (mit Guide)

Erwandern Sie sich zusammen mit einem kundigen Guide die grandiose Landschaft der Rooisand Desert Ranch. Ziele gibt es genug. Genießen Sie atemberaubende Panoramaausblicke und mit etwas Glück begegnen Ihnen bei Ihrer Wanderung auch „andere Bew...
Planeten Wanderweg

Planeten Wanderweg

Anfang 2018 wurde auf ROOISAND ein Planeten-Wanderweg eingerichtet. Auf einer Länge von ca. 2,5km zwischen der Lodge und dem Observatorium können sie unser Sonnensystem durchlaufen. Maßstabsgetreu in Größe und Abstand (ca. 1:1,79 Milliarden) beginnen Sie ...
Annehmlichkeiten

Annehmlichkeiten

Wenn Sie sich nach langer Autofahrt noch ein wenig bewegen oder einfach nur ausruhen möchten – wir stellen Ihnen die folgenden Möglichkeiten kostenlos zur Verfügung:  
Pool

Pool

Zur Abkühlung steht der 16 x 5 m große Pool für Sie bereit.  
Tennisplatz

Tennisplatz

Unsere beiden Tennisplätze sind mit einer Flutlichtanlage ausgestattet und können tagsüber sowie am späteren Abend kostenlos genutzt werden. Rackets und Bälle stellen wir Ihnen bei Bedarf zur Verfügung.  
Tischtennis

Tischtennis

... ist outdoor oder indoor ein beliebtes Freizeitvergnügen ...  
Dart

Dart

Dart auf ROOISAND Wer einzeln oder in der Gruppe seine Treffsicherheit testen möchte, ist an der Dartscheibe gut aufgehoben.  
Frühstück

Frühstück

Zu unserem kontinentalen Frühstücksangebot gehört selbstgebackenes Brot ebenso selbstverständlich wie Müsli, Marmelade und Aufschnitt. Eier bereiten wir nach Ihren Wünschen zu.  
Mittagessen

Mittagessen

Ein leichtes Mittagessen erhalten Sie auf Wunsch. Sollten Sie vor der Mittagspause anreisen, geben Sie uns bitte einen Tag zuvor Bescheid.  
Kaffee & Kuchen

Kaffee & Kuchen

Unsere Küchenfeen freuen sich, Ihnen zur Kaffee-Zeit frisch gebackenen Kuchen anbieten zu dürfen.  
Abendessen

Abendessen

Zum Abendessen bieten wir Ihnen ein 3-Gänge-Menü. Neben einer meist nationalen Vorspeise steht die Hauptspeise mit verschiedenen Beilagen, Bio-Fleisch ausschließlich aus eigenem Bestand, frischem Salat und einer raffinierten Nachspeise auf dem Bu...
Bar

Bar

Lassen Sie den Abend gemütlich und in Gesellschaft an der Bar ausklingen. Wir bieten Ihnen eine Vielfalt alkoholischer und non-alkoholischer Getränke.
Kaminzimmer & Bücherecke

Kaminzimmer & Bücherecke

An (sehr seltenen) kalten Abenden können Sie es sich vor unserem Kamin gemütlich machen. Unsere Bücherecke steht zum Stöbern bereit. Sie finden hier Literatur über Afrika und speziell Namibia ebenso wie leichte Reiseliteratur in deutscher und engl...
Wäscheservice

Wäscheservice

Gerne übernehmen wir die Reinigung Ihrer genutzten Reisewäsche und ermöglichen Ihre frische Weiterreise am nächsten Tag.
Wie Sie uns finden...

Wie Sie uns finden...

So finden Sie uns... Von Windhoek Nach der Anreise aus ist Windhoek meist die erste Station. Verlassen Sie das Zentrum von Windhoek auf der C26 (Mandume Ndemufayo Avenue) in westlicher Richtung. Kurz außerhalb der Stadt passieren Sie den Kupferbergpass ...
Unsere Bewertungen

Unsere Bewertungen

Wir freuen uns über zufriedene Gäste! Hier finden Sie einige Bewertungen von TripAdvisor sowie aus unserem Gästebuch. Waren Sie auch Gast auf Rooisand? Dann können Sie uns hier auch bewerten .
Bewerten Sie uns

Bewerten Sie uns

Lesen Sie alle Bewertungen hier . Hat Ihnen Ihr Aufenthalt bei uns gefallen? Gerne würden wir auch von Ihnen eine Bewertung erhalten! Es gilt unsere Datenschutzerklärung .
Datenschutzerklärung

Datenschutzerklärung

Rooisand Desert Ranch Datenschutzerklärung Wir freuen uns sehr über Ihr Interesse an der Rooisand Desert Ranch. Datenschutz hat einen besonders hohen Stellenwert für die Geschäftsleitung der Rooisand Desert Ranch. Eine Nutzung der Internetseiten der...